Writing Goals

Goals ConceptIt’s important to set goals for writing a book; otherwise, it can be an overwhelming process. I get overwhelmed easily so it’s beneficial for me to break my goals down into obtainable parts. This is why I write all my dialogue first and then go back to incorporate dialogue tags, narration, and if need be, more dialogue. I’m at this point right now. My scenes (chapters) are written, but they are getting fleshed out with these things during the next few months.

When people find out that I’m writing a book they want to know how many pages I have written so far. Well, I can’t really give a true account of this because I don’t write from beginning to end, not even when I’m writing all the dialogue first. I can only answer how many pages of dialogue I currently have written. With that being said, I roughly have 50 pages. It may not seem like a lot but considering that I’m aiming for my book to be between 180-200 pages, I believe that I’m right on track. My idea is to have 20 chapters that are 8-10 pages per chapter. I think that is reasonable. Breaking it down like this provide me mini-goals to keep me on target.

A book has a beginning and an end. How it gets written is up to the writer, as long as it gets written…and that starts with setting goals.

Leave a Reply

